Knotty Knuggets

This Date in History

 March 30

1867 … America signs a treaty with Russia, purchasing the Russian American territories (Alaska) for $7.2 million.

“Seward’s Folly”

  ~ Derisive phrase used by critics to describe U.S. Secretary of State William H. Seward’s decision to purchase Alaska from Russia for the equivalent of 2.5 cents per acre.

     Alaska Purchase - Check

      [Click Pic for more]

 

About Knotty Puppet

I'm the rather slight fellow you see dangling in the cave, center stage on the cover of THE GODDESS & THE DEVIL, a most unique and provocative multi~genre creation. It's a ton of real, thoroughly researched history called upon by our fictitious players arguing about good & evil (&c., &c., ...) who happened to find themselves in one Hell of a bind one night in Salem, 1692.

Posted on March 30, 2013, in Knotty Knuggets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Where have you been love?

    • Been very busy on a project. I’ve been enlisted by a non-profit medical association up here in Mass. to reproduce their current pdf publications in e-book form for e-publication on various platforms and readable on various types & sizes of devices worldwide. A lot more work than meets the eye, especially w/ all the medical pics & illustrations (neurovascular stuff … pretty detailed). And the original texts actually needed a fair dose of editing. So, I’ve been a bit occupied. My apologies. Bad form. And I do appreciate your concern. Nice to know I was missed. And I feel terrible that the esteemed Madame de Pique has nominated me for a very nice award, requirements of which I do need to attend to. Rudeness … especially ingratitude … is a major pet peeve of mine, yet here I am the guilty one. Mea Culpa!
      How’ve you been? And the Mister? And the hypothetical little ones? All doing well I hope.

      My Best,
      ~Tony D. (a.k.a., “kp”)
      Concord, MA

Leave a Reply

